Gracious Act

image

Here I am,
at the end of a hanging rope.
The truth was bitter,
but it wasn’t unexpected.

Bitterness is a choice, however,
a very conscious defense mechanism.
Because when you’ve prepared for the worst,
what else can kill your soul?

But I prefer not to be bittered.
I’d rather see it as a gracious act.
“Kill it before it becomes a poison,”
and you set me free.

I admit I died a little inside,
yet I know spring is around the corner.
Because the world is too big to not be explored,
and letting go is the first step.

Leave a Reply

